Mains / Recipes / Sides / Snacks & Treats / Starters

Paleo Chicken & Avocado Salad- In California!

As many of you know, last week I moved to San Francisco bay area, California to live. Exciting!

My past 7 days have been packed with tough goodbyes, packing, flying, house hunting, unpacking, a touch of sunbathing, numerous trips to Ikea, home building and the like. I can now confirm I am comfortably settled in to my beautiful new home. I have a great internet connection, the sun is shining, life is good.
Today I have a really simple, easy, healthy delicious recipe for you. Great for taking to work as your lunch or munching on as a nutritious supper!

Organic Super Greens

Organic Super Greens

Sourcing the ingredients did actually take a bit of research! Any American readers- thoughts/ feedback on where to source great quality, organic ingredients would be fab & much appreciated! 🙂

Organic Apple Cider Vinegar

Organic Apple Cider Vinegar

Strangely enough before moving to the US, I kind of imagined everything would be similar to the UK. We speak the same language… so I never even entertained the thought that I wouldn’t know the names of supermarkets; where to pick to up paleo goodies etc.

I managed to find Wholefoods, and so hit the shop. I picked up avocados, cider vinegar, some olive oil, some organic, free- range boneless chicken thighs, some garlic, tomatoes, cucumber herbs and sunflower seeds.

Delicious silky Californian avocados

Delicious silky Californian avocados

You can tell I was craving health food! 🙂

Here’s what I made!

Green salad

Green salad

Superfood Chicken Salad

Superfood Chicken Salad

Salad time!

Salad time!

Recipe

You will need:-

  • Boneless chicken thighs
  • Garlic, minced
  • Mixed Herbs
  • Green Leaves
  • Tomato, diced
  • Cucumber, sliced
  • Avocado, sliced
  • Sunflower Seeds
  • Himalayan Salt
  • Black Pepper

Method

  1. In a pan, heat some olive oil. Add the garlic and fry for a minutes on a low heat. Slice the chicken and add to the pan. Sprinkle with herbs & season with salt and pepper.
  2. Meanwhile, build your salad. Add the leaves, top with tomato, cucumber and avocado. Season.
  3. Toss the salad and dress with olive oil and cider vinegar.
  4. Keep stirring the chicken.
  5. Once cooked bring together top with sunflower seeds and serve; with a nice glass of Californian wine! Enjoy!

Leave a comment